What’s The Dealio?

By: Dinko Cirkic

So you live in Chicago and your looking for great deals on a snack, lunch, or dinner, but you have no idea where to go. Another problem would be finally deciding what you’d want. Problem number three would be what you can actually afford, which sounds more like problem number one. This is Cheap Eats for College Peeps so don’t worry too much about price we got you.

However, being the awesome blogger and go-getter of cheap eats dining I found some spectacular for my fellow University of Illinois-Chicago (UIC) cheap peeps, but don’t fret DePaul or Loyola I got a location for you too.

Did you know October is the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles favorite month? I’m not sure it is, but I have a strong inclination that it would be. Here is a pop-quiz question; if the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles favorite month is October why of all months would October be their favorite? Survey says; (pause) it’s National Pizza Month. That’s right as Nikki mentioned in our earlier Cheap Eats post October is National Pizza Month. Now, don’t you just hear those green ninjas yelling “Cowabunga” somewhere off in the distance? No?! Well maybe not, but I think if the TMNT knew October was National Pizza Month they would be busting out “Cowabunga’s” left and right especially because they would be having Pizza in the morning, pizza in the evening, and pizza at supper time. So, here are some places to find cheap, but great pizza.

University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC)

Okay, guys, I know you have been in there inner circle today or yesterday at least once so I know you know that I know that you know the only spot that serves pizza. That’s right, I’m talking about Sbarro. I’m not sure how many of you know this, but you can get any 18” Whole Pizza with unlimited toppings for $9.99. If that’s not a deal I don’t know what is. Seriously, an 18” Whole Pizza for $9.99? Yes! All Day? Yes! You better believe it and with a slogan like “Fresh Italian Cooking…. Guaranteed!” Why not try it? It’s sure to be delicious.

DePaul/Loyola (Downtown Campus)

I know you guys crave pizza just as much as the next cheap peep so I got a location for you guys too. Whole Foods Market Gold Coast located at 30 W. Huron (Huron and Dearborn) has got your craving for pizza covered. On “Pizza Wednesdays” you can get a 16” Cheese Pizza for $9.99 (extra toppings $1/each) & any other day its $11.99. It’s a great pizza and my personal favorite is BBQ Chicken.

If you’re not a Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles fan (I don’t know why you wouldn’t be) then you have to at least be a fan of pizza. I mean how could you not be? It’s delicious and with so many different varieties and toppings everyone has a favorite.  

UIC

Another heads-up about a deal on campus is Wendy’s. I know its kind of self-explanatory that we all know of Wendy’s inside the inner circle and you might just brush it off because it is located right under our noses, but it’s cheap and it fills your stomach. Yesterday, I got two Double Stacks, a crispy chicken, and medium drink for $5.28. That’s a good deal and to be honest I didn’t eat anything big the rest of the day.

DePaul/Loyola

Whole Foods Market Gold Coast is where it’s at for you guys. They have special going on everyday almost. So, I’ll list some specials for you guys right off the bat. Mondays you can get two slices of pizza for $5. Tuesdays you can get a roasted chicken (Plain, BBQ, or Spicy) for $5.99. Wednesday is obviously “Pizza Wednesday.” Thursday is Panini day for $4.99. Also, any day of the week they will have either chicken Parmesan with spaghetti for $4.99 or 8-piece fried chicken for $4.99 as well.

These are just some of the deals you can get around the city boys and girls. I hope you college peeps go out there an try some of these great deals out. I highly recommend both the pizza from Sbarro and Whole Foods Market. Let me know if you liked them please leave a comment or feedback on your experience. As always thank you and Cowabunga dude.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

