Tatsu vs. Ichiban

By: Nicole Kucharski

Another day, another sushi joint, this time located in the University Village area. First and foremost, I wanted to see how this place compared to Ichiban sushi nearby. I liked the atmosphere from the get-go.  Evem though Tatsu was buzzing with customers (it was lunch hour), I didn’t feel crowded or cramped. Also, Tatsu offered a musical ambiance of pulsating club beats, which was a big plus since I am a trance/house/dance kind of girl.

Spring rolls

Although Tatsu didn’t have any all-you-can eat specials (like the Ichiban $13.95 deal) the prices were pretty standard in comparison to other places in the area.  As pregame, I opted for the spring rolls, which were absolutely delicious and offered a perfect balance of spicy and sweet. The rolls came next. I had ordered the Alaska and Unagi rolls, which came out to be $11. The first big difference I noticed in Tatsu’s rolls was the perfectproportion of rice to seafood. In comparison, Ichiban’s rolls had too much rice for my taste.

Alaska and Unagi rolls (salmon and eel)

All in all, Tatsu provided me with some good tasting rolls and quality music. I present Tatsu with an 8/10 (that’s one point higher than Ichiban) mainly because I liked the overall interior and rolls slightly more than Ichiban’s.

This entry was posted in cheap food for college students, Series. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tatsu vs. Ichiban

  1. Lizzy says:

    TATSU is amazing! The more often you go- the more likely the chefs will make you something special for free! I go to Tatsu a couple times a week because I live about 200 steps away (really though) and the chefs are so friendly! While Ichiban might have some great deals, in terms of atmosphere and taste Tatsu > Ichiban for sure.

  2. I have to completely agree. The music, atmosphere, and food make it one of the best sushi places in the UIC area. 🙂

Leave a Reply

