I Scream for Ice Cream 2.0

By: Dinko Cirkic

I always make it a point to have dessert when I eat out. Whether I’ve stuffed my face with three cheeseburgers, fries, pop, and some nachos I always have just enough room for dessert. If you were at an Italian restaurant you might have gelato, if at a Greek restaurant baklava is a sweet dish to follow your meal, or maybe you go to a vegan joint and after your tofu you have a nice vegan gluten free carrot cake. No matter where you might enjoy a brunch, mid afternoon snack, or dinner something sweet is always welcome right after.

My personal favorite is ice cream. I find ice cream or gelato to be wonderful and sweet treats. Now I know you might want the whole restaurant experience, but sometimes the desserts are not worth the price. However, I have a suggestion for you instead of getting dessert at the original place of dining go and pick up a pint of ice cream and enjoy it on the walk home, in the park, or even with a friend. The waiter might tell you one thing about that chocolate cake that you’ve been eyeing on the menu since you stepped foot in the place, but it might end up being smaller than expected or an unoriginal slab piece masqueraded as a delicatessen.

I’ve decided that my job for today is to review some great ice cream for my cheap eaters. I posted a review of three gelatos a month ago and would suggest you glancing at them for recommendation because I enjoyed all three. Nevertheless, this time ‘I scream, You scream, We all scream for ice cream’ has gotten a little bit more ambitious. So here are the nominees for best natural ice cream the second time around.

1. Bubbies Ice Cream and Desserts Hawaii
Premium Mochi Ice Cream $8.99

Bubbies Ice Cream

Ingredients: Cream, sucrose, skim milk powder, corn syrup solids, strawberries (6%), rich flour (5%), egg whites (1%), mono and diglycerides, locust beam gum, guar gum, natural flavour, carrageenan, natural colour, (with 11.5% milk fat)

Bubbies Ice Cream and Dessert Hawaii is the best ice cream mochid dessert ever. It comes in a variety of flavors. For this experiment I went with strawberry and I was not disappointed. Bubbies is super soft, has a great mochi texture, and sweet. Now, I know 8.99 might be a little too hefty of a price for a lot of college peeps, but out of all the choices this one is worth the price. It comes in a cool box packaging 8 beautiful round joys. Cheap Eat$ Peeps may find this amazing ice cream in grocery stores. I picked up my box at Whole Foods Market. I rate this ice cream 10/10.

2. Nice Cream Chicago “Small Batch Handcrafted Ice Cream’” Blueberry Pie $8.99

Nice Cream

Ingredients: Organic cream, organic evaporated cane sugar, vanilla beans, blueberry pie (blueberries, sugar, corn starch, lemon juice, cinnamon, flour, salt, vegetable shortening)

There isn’t any other way of describing this pint of Ice Cream other than an ice cream that legitimately tastes like blueberry pie. If you take a look at the ingredients it clearly shows a blueberry pie. Its texture was soft and the flavor was good as well. I enjoyed Nice Cream very much, but for the retail $8.99 a pint I wouldn’t buy it again. I picked this local ice cream up at Whole Foods Market as well. As far as price, enjoyment, and flavor I have to give Nice Cream a 7/10.

3. Good Karma Organic Rice Divine Mint Chocolate Swirl Creamy Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert $3.99

Good Karma Mint Chocolate

Ingredients: Organic Rice Milk (Filtered Water, Organic Rice Syrup Solids, Organic Whole Grain Brown Rice), Organic Dehydrated Cane Juice, Organic Chocolate Fudge (Organic Dehydrated Cane Juice, Water, Organic Dutch Cocoa Powder, Organic Tapioca Starch, Natural Flavors, Salt, Carrageenan), Organic Sunflower Oil and/or Organic Canola Oil and/or Organic Safflower Oil, Chicory Root Extract, Natural Peppermint Flavor, Organic Tapioca Starch, Organic Locust Bean Gum, Soy Protein Concentrate, Organic Guar Gum, Carrageenan, Xanthan Gum, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Sea Salt.

Nondairy, Gluten free, Lactose free, Vegan, Organic

Good Karma Organic Mint Chocolate Swirl is a very good “ice cream.” I put it in quotation marks because it’s actually a non-dairy frozen dessert.  Now, I have to admit that mint is not my favorite flavor, but this dessert made me appreciate it. I totally savored the mint-chocolaty flavor. I would recommend this dessert to anyone who wants to try something different (Rice Milk) because it’s different I have to give it 8.1/10.

4. Benn & Jerry’s Stephen Colbert Americone Dream $3.99
Vanilla Ice Cream with Fudge Covered Waffle Cone pieces & a Caramel Swirl

Americone Dream

Ingredients: Cream, Skim Milk, Liquid Sugar, Water, Sugar, Corn Syrup, Egg Yolks, Coconut Oil, Wheat Flour, Butter, Cocoa, Milk, Milk Fat, Soybean Oil, Vanilla Extract, Natural Flavor, Soy Lecithin, Guar Gum, Salt, Carrageenan, and Sodium Bicarbonate.

Stephen Colbert gets his own ice cream in the “Americone Dream” and the ice cream does not disappoint. Colbert is a hilarious fake news anchor who parodies right winged conservatives very well on his TV program “The Colbert Report.” His ice cream doesn’t parody ice creams rather enhances their reputation. The “Americone Dream” is a delicious ice cream that has to be tried by everyone. The vanilla and waffle pieces really bring a sensational cone waffle flavor every time you take a scoop out. I got my Colbert ice cream at 7-11 and it may be picked up anywhere that ice creams are sold. I give the “Americone Dream” an 8.5/10.

There’s the list of the fantastic four ice creams chosen by me. Cheap Eat$ for College Peeps would love to hear from you guys on what your favorite ice cream is. Please leave us a comment or suggestion we love to try anything.

This entry was posted in cheap food for college students, food on the go, Series, under $5 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

